fbpx

Louis Cyr

Born Cyprien Noé Cyr
alias
 
The Canadian Samson
 
The Strongest Man in Canada
 
The Strongest Man on Earth
 
King of the Circus
 
The Strongest Man that Ever Liveds

The name Louis Cyr calls to mind one of Québec’s greatest folk heroes. A century and a half after his birth, the stories about his life vacillate between myth and reality. The legend began with great exploits, some still unequaled, but was also liberally fueled by inspiring superlatives which struck the imaginations of Quebeckers in former times and even to this day.

Louis Cyr was born on October 10, 1863 in Saint-Cyprien-de-Napierville. His father was named Pierre Cyr, as were his grandfather and great-grandfather, who were renowned strongmen in Saint-Cyprien-de-Napierville. His mother, Philomène Berger, baptized Véronneau, came from Sainte-Hélène-de-Bagot. Louis was the second of ten surviving children and the oldest boy.

From a very young age, Louis displayed extraordinary strength.

In December 1878, Pierre Cyr, his wife, Philomène, and their ten children immigrated to Lowell, Massachusetts, seeking a better future. By doing so they were joining the exodus of a half a million French Canadians strewn across several American states. In Lowell, Louis Cyr met his future wife, Mélina Comtois, whose family originated from Saint-Jean-de-Matha. They married in that parish in January 1882. A year later, the couple returned to Lowell where, before a crowd of 4,000, Louis Cyr lifted a large rock to shoulder height. The scale at the general store where it was taken for weighing tipped at 517 pounds! Louis Cyr became a source of pride for the French Canadian community in Lowell.

From that point on, Louis Cyr’s exploits and reputation continued to grow and in many cases seemed beyond reality.

Did you know that…

  • In 1887 at Lowell, for the first time he performed the feat of restraining two horses pulling in opposite directions? During his entire career, he repeated this exploit more than 500 times at Sohmer Park in Montréal, and elsewhere in Canada and the United States.
  • On November 2, 1889, the Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal offered to Louis Cyr the Fortissimo belt for his numerous exploits and his help promoting the French-Canadian nation? It was awarded to him by Laurent-Olivier David, president of the Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal, in the presence of the future Prime Minister of Canada, Wilfrid Laurier, and that of Québec, Honoré Mercier.
  • On September 21, 1891, at Sohmer Park in Montreal, a crowd of 10,000 watched him hold back the best horses – totalling 4,800 pounds – from the King Express Company, a piano and safe moving company? This remarkable performance confirmed Louis Cyr’s extraordinary strength for all time!
  • At the end of October 1891, Louis Cyr, then aged 28, embarked at Québec on the SS Vancouver bound for Liverpool, England?
  • On January 19th, 1892, in London, Cyr wrote a new chapter in the history of strength competition by demolishing all the existing records? The 5,000 Londoners, incredulous at first and then euphoric, watched for the first time as a man lifted 273 ¼ pounds with one arm, more than a quarter of a ton with one finger, and then performed a back lift with a load of 3,655 pounds. The Canadian shattered all the records and became the world’s strongest man.
  • On May 27, 1895, in Boston, Louis Cyr performed a historic back lift of 4,337 pounds? Cyr became the first human to lift a platform weighing over 4,000 pounds for more than 5 seconds.
  • Upon his return from London in 1892, he founded the Cyr’s Brothers troupe, specialized in athletic theatre? But the American leading circuses coveted him as he was recognized as the strongest man of all time. The John Robinson Circus hired him in 1896, along with his friend Horace Barré. A year later, they became headliners at the Ringling Brothers Circus, where they remained until 1898. There his salary was $2,000 a week, six times the yearly wage of a manual labourer. These tours took him from one end to the other of the United States.
  • Louis Cyr founded his own circus in 1899 with his friend Horace Barré?
  • For five years, from 1899 to 1904, the Cyr-Barré circus made stands in more than 300 towns and villages in Québec, and some in Ontario? More than 650 performances attended by around 600,000 spectators earned more than $150,000, which would amount to about $4.4 million today. Its big top offered 2,000 seats and had standing room for another 1,000. The show would begin an hour later, and cost 20¢ for general admission and 25¢ seated.
  • In 23 years of public life, Louis Cyr travelled over 80,000 kilometers across Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom?
  • His biographer Paul Ohl tallied the balance sheet of his public life: some 2,500 strength demonstrations, more than 1,000 of them with the John Robinson, Ringling Bros and Cyr-Barré circuses, and 2,000 platform or back lifts, totalling 3,000 tons… He wrestled more than 500 times restraining teams of horses and hoisted weights over 240 pounds more than 2,000 times with his right arm.
  • From 1900 on, Louis Cyr’s health deteriorated due to overindulgence at the table, excess weight gain and a sedentary lifestyle? A serious kidney condition, Bright’s disease, forced him to withdraw from the arena. He died on November 10, 1912 at the age of 49.

THE STRONGEST MAN WHO EVER LIVED

LOUIS CYR WAS CERTAINLY THIS, FROM TIME IMMEMORIAL, UNTIL HIS DEATH. HE REMAINS SO, DESPITE THE ADVENT OF MEN GIFTED WITH EXPLOSIVE POWER, BUT WHOSE EXPLOITS ARE LIMITED TO LIFTING WEIGHTS.

BUT NO MAN HAS YET BEEN ABLE TO EXCEL TO SUCH A DEGREE WITH BOTH WEIGHTS AND HEAVY OBJECTS, SUCH AS BARRELS, ANVILS, STONES OR PLATFORMS LOADED WITH LEAD OBJECTS OR HUMANS. IN THIS REGARD, LOUIS CYR REMAINS IN A CLASS OF HIS OWN.

Paul Ohl

Ready for your visit?

Maison Louis-Cyr is waiting for you!

fbpx

Louis Cyr

Né Cyprien Noé Cyr
 
Samson canadien
 
Homme le plus fort du Canada
 
Homme le plus fort du monde
 
Roi du cirque
 
Homme le plus fort de tous les temps

Le nom Louis Cyr évoque un des plus grands héros populaires du Québec. Un siècle et demi après sa naissance, les récits sur sa vie oscillent entre mythe et réalité. La légende s’est imposée avec de grands exploits, dont certains inégalés, mais aussi à grands coups de superlatifs qui ont marqué l’imaginaire des Québécois d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Louis Cyr est né le 10 octobre 1863 à Saint-Cyprien-de-Napierville. Son père s’appelle Pierre Cyr, comme son grand-père et son arrière- grand-père, qui avaient une réputation d’hommes forts à Saint-Cyprien-de-Napierville. Sa mère, Philomène Berger, dit Véronneau, vient de Sainte-Hélène-de-Bagot. Louis est le deuxième des dix enfants vivants de la famille et l’aîné des garçons.

Dès son jeune âge, Louis démontre une force extraordinaire.

En décembre 1878, Pierre Cyr, sa femme, Philomène, et leurs dix enfants partent pour Lowell, au Massachusetts, à la recherche d’un avenir meilleur. Ils rejoignent ainsi un demi-million de Canadiens français dispersés dans plusieurs États américains. C’est à cet endroit que Louis Cyr fait la rencontre de sa future épouse, Mélina Comtois, dont la famille vient de Saint-Jean-de-Matha. Ils se marient dans cette paroisse en janvier 1882. Un an plus tard, le couple retourne à Lowell où, devant une foule de 4 000 personnes, Louis Cyr soulève une grosse pierre jusqu’aux épaules. La balance du magasin général où elle est transportée affiche 517 livres! Louis Cyr devient une fierté pour les Canadiens français de Lowell.

À partir de ce moment, les exploits et la réputation de Louis Cyr n’ont cessé de prendre de l’ampleur et, dans bien des cas, semblaient au-delà de la réalité.

Saviez-vous que…

  • En 1887, à Lowell, Louis Cyr retient pour la première fois deux chevaux tirant en sens contraire ? Il répétera cet exploit plus de 500 fois à Montréal, au parc Sohmer, et ailleurs au Canada et aux États-Unis.
  • Le 2 novembre 1889, la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal a offert à Louis Cyr la ceinture Fortissimo pour souligner ses nombreux exploits et son apport à la promotion de la nation canadienne-française ? Elle fut remise par Laurent-Olivier David, président de la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal, en présence du futur premier ministre du Canada, Wilfrid Laurier, et celui du Québec, Honoré Mercier.
  • Le 21 septembre 1891 au parc Sohmer de Montréal, 10 000 personnes le voient retenir durant une minute quatre des meilleurs chevaux – 4 800 livres – de la King Express Company, transporteur de pianos et coffres-forts ? Cette performance unique confirme la force plus qu’extraordinaire de Louis Cyr !
  • À la fin d’octobre 1891, Louis Cyr, âgé de 28 ans, embarque à Québec sur le SS Vancouver à destination de Liverpool, en Angleterre afin d’aller affronter les hommes forts européens?
  • Le 19 janvier 1892, à Londres, Louis Cyr écrit un nouveau chapitre de l’histoire de la force en battant tous les records existants ? Les 5 000 Londoniens présents, d’abord incrédules, puis en délire, voient pour la première fois un être humain hisser au bout d’un seul bras 273 ¼ livres, soulever d’un seul doigt plus d’un quart de tonne et lever avec son dos une plateforme chargée de 3 655 livres. Le Canadien fracasse tous les records et devient l’homme le plus fort du monde.
  • Le 27 mai 1895, à Boston, Louis Cyr effectue un back lift historique de 4337 livres? Cyr devient le premier humain à soulever pendant plus de 5 secondes une plateforme de plus de 4 000 livres.
  • À son retour de Londres en 1892, il met sur pied la troupe Cyr’s Brothers, spécialisée en théâtre athlétique ? Mais les grands cirques le convoitent, car il est considéré comme étant l’homme le plus fort de tous les temps. Le John Robinson Circus l’engage en 1896, avec son ami Horace Barré. Un an plus tard, ils deviennent les têtes d’affiche du Ringling Brothers Circus, et ce, jusqu’en novembre 1898. Là, son salaire est de 2 000 $ par semaine, équivalant à six fois le salaire annuel d’un ouvrier. Ces tournées le mènent partout aux États-Unis.
  • Louis Cyr fonde son propre cirque en 1899 avec son ami Horace Barré ?
  • En cinq ans, de 1899 à 1904, le cirque Cyr-Barré fait escale dans plus de 300 villes et villages du Québec, et dans quelques villes en Ontario ? Au-delà de 650 représentations et 600 000 spectateurs lui font encaisser plus de 150 000 $, soit la valeur actuelle de 4,4 M$. Son chapiteau offre 2 000 places assises et 1 000 debout. L’admission générale est de 20¢ et de 25¢ pour une place assise.
  • En 23 ans de vie publique, Louis Cyr a parcouru environ 80 000 kilomètres au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni?
  • Son biographe Paul Ohl dresse ainsi un bilan de sa vie publique: environ 2 500 spectacles de tours de force, plus de 1 000 avec les cirques John Robinson, Ringling Bros et Cyr-Barré, 2 000 levers de plateforme, ou back lifts, pour un total de 3 000 tonnes… Il lutte plus de 500 fois contre des paires de chevaux et soulève près de 2 000 fois des haltères supérieurs à 240 livres avec son bras droit.
  • Dès 1900, la santé de Louis Cyr se détériore? Excès de table, embonpoint, vie sédentaire… Une affection rénale sérieuse, la maladie de Bright, l’oblige à s’éloigner de l’arène. Il en décèdera le 10 novembre 1912 à l’âge de 49 ans.

L’HOMME LE PLUS FORT DE TOUS LES TEMPS

LOUIS CYR LE FUT CERTAINEMENT, TOUTES ÉPOQUES CONFONDUES, JUSQU’À SA MORT. IL LE DEMEURA, MALGRÉ L’AVÈNEMENT D’HOMMES DOTÉS D’UNE FORCE EXPLOSIVE, MAIS DONT LES EXPLOITS SE RÉDUISAIENT À DES LEVERS HALTÉROPHILES.

MAIS AUCUN HOMME N’ÉTAIT ENCORE PARVENU À EXCELLER AUTANT AVEC DES HALTÈRES QU’AVEC DES OBJETS LOURDS, TELS DES TONNEAUX, DES ENCLUMES, DES PIERRES, DES PLATEFORMES CHARGÉES DE PIÈCES DE FONTE OU D’HUMAINS. LOUIS CYR FUT, À CET ÉGARD, UN CAS UNIQUE.

Paul Ohl

Prêt pour votre visite?

La Maison Louis-Cyr vous attend!

visite virtuelle de la maison Louis-Cyr

Découvrez l’authentique Maison Louis-Cyr dans le confort de votre maison!

Seulement 5$ + tx